Posted in Books, Cats, Family, Movies, Parenting, Uncategorized

Books – Like TV In Your Head

 Reading books as an adult can certainly impact and change you, but in a different way than as a child. As a child you haven’t got a filter yet. You’re becoming who you will be.
For children that are lucky enough to have the time, the resources, and the lifestyle that allows them to read, books are a transport to multiple worlds, times, to anywhere the pages can take them.

ygm5

Reading through A Puffin Book: Stories That Last A Lifetime (Puffin Books), I was transported back to my childhood.
Full of excer1books12pts, facts, and cool activities to do with children, I thought, what an appealing and fun way to introduce children to some of these classic books, and remind us children-at-heart of some treasures from our youth.

I totally recall why I’d fallen head over heels in love with Charlotte’s Web, Trumpet of the Swan, and Stuart Little by E.B. White. The messages of friendship and overcoming hardships while being a good person, or pig, or mouse, or swan still ring true.

As a teen reading Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian, I began to think more about people, especially children, trapped in wars and conflicts.

Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH by Robert C. O’Brien (also loved the movie, The Secret of NIMH) helped me understand it’s important to do the right thing, even if it’s the hard thing.

I so wanted to have Gobbolino the Witch’s Cat by Ursula Moray Williams living with me…maybe still do.

Watership Down by Richard Adams made me think about truth and who knows what truth is the truth, or if it’s just your or my truth. Or maybe sometimes a rabbit is just a rabbit. https://yadadarcyyada.com/2014/01/10/watership-down/

bunny2

The Neverending Story by Michael Ende while a lovely story, is not 100% accurate, it ended.

1books19

I can’t fully describe how much I loved The Borrowers series by Mary Norton. It endlessly entertained, and helped clarify what I was learning about differences and tolerance.

Anne of Green Gables,
James and the Giant Peach,
Annie, A Dog So Small,
The Worst Witch,
Stig of the Dump,
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
https://yadadarcyyada.com/2014/07/20/charlie-and-the-chocolate-factory-turns-50/1books20
Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Island of the Blue Dolphins,
Paddington https://yadadarcyyada.com/2014/06/25/happy-birthday-paddington-bear/
Robin Hood, Treasure Island, A Wrinkle in Time,
Percy Jackson, Pippi Longstocking,
Wind in the Willows, Black Beauty,
The Cay, Little Women, Meg & Mog,
Wizard of Oz https://yadadarcyyada.com/2014/04/04/happy-birthday-wizard-of-oz/
Little House on the Prairie,
Chronicles of Narnia, Matilda,
Ballet Shoes, Sherlock Holmes,
Dracula, Dr. Dolittle, The First Year,
Mary Poppins https://yadadarcyyada.com/2014/07/12/saving-mr-banks/
Alice in Wonderland,
The Very Hungry Caterpillar,
Anne Frank’s Diary of a Young Girl,
ok, just realized I’m including titles not even in this book.
I guess I just never realized how many Puffin books I’ve read in my lifetime, and how lucky to be able to share them with my son.
Wait, I can’t forget The Velveteen Rabbit – loving makes everything real.

1books10

I hope these stories that made me laugh, cry, took me away, flew so high, made me think, want, wonder, worry, dream, hope, and care, are still being read by children of all ages.

I had two childhoods, the one I lived in the pages of books, and the other with my family and friends when I would crawl out of my books.

Any favourite books, from childhood or beyond?

Advertisements

Author:

Very me

16 thoughts on “Books – Like TV In Your Head

  1. Books – Like TV In Your Head
    Books are very important for children to read. They can live in with the
    books or have a fantasy about the books. Of course, later it is important
    for the adult to read as it encourages us to get away or just read a book that
    tells you “how to do things”…that is very important to adults. Kids can also
    read “how to do things”, it will help them to get further in life.

    Like

  2. The first ‘real’ book I ever read all the way through was ‘What Katy Did’. I must have read it a dozen times one after the other till my mum told me that there were other books I would enjoy just as much. I was sceptical that anything could live up to the pleasure I had found in WKD but I ventured to try and have never stopped since. ‘Heidi’ was another I loved as a kid. You’re right about the worlds we lived in, the separate universe from reality. I had cushions thrown at me to get my attention back then and still switch off completely from all around when I’m reading.

    Like

    1. lol I think I’ve had a few things thrown at me to wake me up from bookland too. I remember What Katy Did and of course Heidi is wonderful, even as I read the name I’m picturing Heidi being given fresh goat’s milk by her Grandfather. Thanks so much for dropping by and sharing your books memories. 🙂

      Like

    1. I think I remember those, especially one about Space Cowboys; that’s probably where Joss Whedon got the inspiration for Firefly. Thanks for the reminder. I still love sci-fi. 🙂

      Like

Please follow, like, leave comments. Thanks.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s